Place de la Maison Carrée
30000 Nîmes
+334 66 76 35 70
Contact
Website
Open from Tuesday to Sunday inclusive - From 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Normal rate : 8 €
Reduced rate : 5 €
Accessible to disabled people
Group visits
School visits
Contact the Culture Department
Presentation Currently Archives

Carré d’Art - Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes

Eija-Liisa Ahtila
— Mondes parallèles
From friday october 12 to sunday january 6 2013

Eija-Liisa Ahtila is an idiosyncratic narrator in moving images, who probes questions on what it entails to be a human being and a subject. Her filmic installations challenge habitual perspectives and expose new perceptive worlds. She touches on and brings to life the current ongoing discussion on biopolitics and post-humanism.
Ahtila’s working process often begins with writing. Research on a subject is interwoven with fiction and references from art history and literature, in multifaceted narratives. A fascination for film as a technique and medium permeates Ahtila’s oeuvre. She twists and turns its very cornerstones, playing with the traditional cinematic narrative. Her works occasionally allude to a given, familiar style, culled from the commercial or documentary, undermining the viewer’s routine interpretation. In her large spatial works with multi-channel projections, the feeling of co-existing worlds is enhanced.
This exhibition puts the emphasis on Ahtila’s recent output, with a few earlier works to provide reference points. Alongside sculptures and drawings, the installations Where is Where (2008), The Annunciation (2010) and the recent Horizontal[/i] (2011) are particularly noteworthy. Eija-Liisa Ahtila lives and works in Helsinki. Her works have previously been shown at the MoMA, New York, Jeu de Paume, Paris, Tate Modern, London, and Kunsthalle, Zürich. She has participated in numerous international exhibitions, including the Venice Biennale in both 1999 and 2005.

Born in 1959 in Finlande, Eija-Liisa Ahtila is presented by Gallery Marian Goodman, New York and Paris.

— Press Release
— Press Kit
— Feuilletez le livret d’exposition
— Consultez le catalogue d’exposition



Directory Agenda Professional information Art in public spaces Publications Artists in Languedoc-Roussillon We appreciate your feedback ...



This site uses Google Analytics. By continuing to browse, you allow us to place a cookie for audience measurement purposes.
Learn more Refuse

Place de la Maison Carrée
30000 Nîmes
04 66 76 35 70
Contact
Site Internet
Ouvert tous les jours sauf le lundi, de 10h à 18h
Tarif normal : 8 €
Tarif réduit : 5 €
Accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite
Visites de groupe
Visites scolaires
Contacter le service culturel
Présentation ActueĮement Archives

Carré d’Art - Musée d’art contemporain de Nîmes

Eija-Liisa Ahtila
— Mondes parallèles
Du vendredi 12 octobre au dimanche 6 janvier 2013

Avec les images en mouvement, Eija-Liisa Ahtila est une narratrice hors pair qui examine des problématiques liées à la condition humaine. Ses installations de films remettent en question les perspectives traditionnelles et exposent de nouveaux mondes de perception. Elle évoque et ravive le débat perpétuel sur la biopolitique et le post humanisme.
Le processus créatif d’Ahtila débute souvent par l’écriture. Ses recherches mêlent la fiction et des références à l’histoire de l’art et à la littérature au sein de narrations multifacettes. Une fascination pour le cinéma en tant que technique et medium imprègne l’œuvre d’Ahtila. Elle en déforme et tord ses fondements mêmes, jouant avec la narration cinématographique traditionnelle. Ses œuvres se réfèrent parfois à un style attendu et familier, puisé dans la publicité ou le documentaire, mais qui déstabilisent l’interprétation ordinaire du spectateur. Le sentiment que plusieurs mondes coexistent s’accroit dans ses installations de grande dimension à plusieurs écrans.
L’exposition Eija-Liisa Ahtila : Mondes parallèles met l’accent sur la production récente d’Ahtila, avec quelques œuvres plus anciennes à titre de points de repère. A côté de sculptures et de dessins, les installations Où est où ? (2008), L’Annonciation (2010) et la plus récente Horizontal (2011) sont particulièrement remarquables. Eija-Liisa Ahtila vit et travaille à Helsinki. Son travail a été montré au MoMA (New York), au Jeu de Paume (Paris), à la Tate Modern (Londres) et à la Kunsthalle (Zürich). Elle a participé à de nombreuses expositions internationales, dont les Biennales de Venise de 1999 et 2005.

Née en 1959 en Finlande, Eija-Liisa Ahtila est représentée par la galerie Marian Goodman, New York et Paris.

— Communiqué de presse
— Dossier de presse
— Feuilletez le livret d’exposition
— Consultez le catalogue d’exposition



Annuaire Agenda Informations professionnelles Art dans l’espace public Parutions Artistes en languedoc-roussillon Votre avis nous intéresse...



Ce site utilise Google Analytics. En continuant à naviguer, vous nous autorisez à déposer un cookie à des fins de mesure d’audience.
En savoir plus Refuser